Major Crush

354518.jpg

Tired of the beauty-pageant circuit, Virginia Sauter tosses her tiara, pierces her nose, and auditions for the most unlikely of roles — drum major of the high school marching band.
Virginia wins, but is forced to share the title with Drew, whose family has held the position for generations. Sure, Drew is hot, but because of his superior attitude, he and Virginia are constantly arguing. That is, until they share more than just their half-time salute…

But as the drum major’s heated competition turns to sizzling romance, explosive rumors threaten everything — including the band’s success. Love seemed to be a sure hit, but Virginia and Drew may be marching straight into disaster. (c)goodreads

TITLE: Major Crush
AUTHOR: Jennifer Echols
Publication Date: August 1, 2006
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance

I enjoyed reading this. It was cute, light and quick read. Though it’s not really a swoon-worthy, I can say that there were parts where I can’t wipe my grin on my face. It’s a cliche with all these we-are-arguing-everyday-then-end-up-liking-each-other and i-made-that-snarl-comment-to-you-years-ago-because-i-want-to-get-your-attention spiels. I like how the two main characters, Drew and Virginia, showed the actual attitude of teenagers toward their feelings, family, responsibility, competition, crush, ego, friends and enemies. I felt like I’ve been drawn back to my teenage years, not that I experience making out with my crush in a tractor. LOL. Then I also enjoyed the subtle way of using the SAT words in their “competition”, inside jokes and comments about something or someone ( hi, evil twins! Haha!). It was hilariously nerdy.

On a serious note, communicating and expressing feelings are vital ingredients in any relationship – filial, romantic, platonic, you name it. I like the part where Mr. Rush used the “I feel” strategy for Drew and Virginia. Feelings are need to express and heard, not bottled up inside you. They also discovered that there’s more to the other person than meets the eye. 
Though this book was more focused on romance,  it also depicted how to deal with their own personal crap – that it’s okay to cry, to change, to just be yourself and be out there and that sometimes it’s not about forgiving others, it’s about forgiving yourself. slightsmile emoticon

Major Crush is a book I recommend to all those who like romance, light, sweet yet funny books and who are in need of a quick read.

My rating:

5_star_rating_system_3_stars_t

The Princess Saves Herself in this One

30075802.jpg

“Ah, life- the thing that happens to us while we’re off somewhere else blowing on dandelions & wishing ourselves into the pages of our favorite fairy tales.”

A poetry collection divided into four different parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, & you. the princess, the damsel, & the queen piece together the life of the author in three stages, while you serves as a note to the reader & all of humankind. Explores life & all of its love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, & inspirations. (c)goodreads

TITLE: The Princess Saves Herself in this One
AUTHOR: Amanda Lovelace
Publication Date: April 23, 2016
Genre: Poetry

I know that the poetry that setting trends nowadays are this kind of thing – mere sentences formatted by pressing enter after every word. In fact, no usual rhyming. Hmm, of course i still like the old forms, the Pablo Neruda-ish kind of poetry but it doesn’t mean that I didn’t appreciate this new form of poetry. That’s why I’ve gave this one a shot.

After reading this, I’ve got a bit teary-eyed. This was so personal. I just felt the raw emotions associated in every word. Ok, maybe I am biased with this one. But i really like it because I’ve known Amanda (not personally, though) as bookmad in tumblr. I love how she pour into words her life. I’ve been following her in tumblr enough to say that this book really deserves all the praises in the literary world. Actually, the words she used in this were simple words. Simple that they are easy to understand and doesn’t need a dictionary to look up to when reading — which is a good thing because i rather read simple words that convey deep emotions and feelings than i-can’t-even-pronounce-it words with hollow thoughts. You’ll know from reading this book that this was written with soul.

The Princess Saves Herself in this One is a book I recommend for everyone that are still afraid to jump from their sinking ship. Read this and stop waiting for someone to save you.

My rating:

5_Star_Rating_System_3_stars_T.png

Love and Other Foreign Words

18667800

Perfect for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell, Love and Other Foreign Words is equal parts comedy and coming of age–a whip-smart, big-hearted, laugh-out-loud love story about sisters, friends, and what it means to love at all.

Can anyone be truly herself–or truly in love–in a language that’s not her own?

Sixteen-year-old Josie lives her life in translation. She speaks High School, College, Friends, Boyfriends, Break-ups, and even the language of Beautiful Girls. But none of these is her native tongue — the only people who speak that are her best friend Stu and her sister Kate. So when Kate gets engaged to an epically insufferable guy, how can Josie see it as anything but the mistake of a lifetime? Kate is determined to bend Josie to her will for the wedding; Josie is determined to break Kate and her fiancé up. As battles are waged over secrets and semantics, Josie is forced to examine her feelings for the boyfriend who says he loves her, the sister she loves but doesn’t always like, and the best friend who hasn’t said a word — at least not in a language Josie understands. (c)goodreads

TITLE: Love and Other Foreign Words
AUTHOR: Erin McCahan
Publication Date: May 1, 2014
Genres: YA, Contemporary

after reading this, i was like…
description

yeah, i know!*raises both hands* i feel like a smitten teenager! HAHA sorry not sorry though.
It’s just so hilariously cute, light, witty, cheesy and CLICHE with all that I’m-your-bestfriend-who’s-always-been-in-love-with-you-so-stop-overthinking-and-kiss-me shit! but who cares??? hopeless romantic here so yeah…hihihi.

LOVE AND OTHER FOREIGN WORDS is a book I recommend to fans of any young adult and contemporary authors ( and also hopeless romantics out there!!), since it offers a different take on a cliché love story — a story about a protagonist who has to translate her own foreign concepts into a language she can understand.

My rating:

5_Star_Rating_System_4_stars_T.png